Home > General Messages, Media Releases > Statement from Helen Marchal

Statement from Helen Marchal

Helen Marchal sent the following statement to GOP activists a few moments ago:

“Earlier today, I sent an e-mail to Tom John, the Chairman of the Republican Party in Marion County, withdrawing my application for the Party’s endorsement as a candidate for Marion County Prosecutor.

“Given the early deadline for filing for slating, and with the timing of Prosecutor Brizzi’s decision not to run for re-election so close to that deadline, I was faced with a major decision impacting myself and my family (including my three children, under the age of 7), with a deadline of less than 48 hours.  On further reflection and consideration of the sobering realities of a condensed, nine-month campaign, for personal reasons, I thought it best to withdraw my candidacy.  I have talked to the party Chairman, and am hopeful that the process can be reopened so that another candidate, the best candidate that can be found, will receive the support and the opportunity that he or she needs.  I will do all I can to be helpful in that process.

“With gratitude to all those who were willing to support me for this important trust, I am humbled and thankful.”

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

